News Center

September 13, 2013

Antigua and Barbuda signed an enhanced Bilateral Cooperation Agreement with Guadeloupe


Following months of talks which began in December 2010, Antigua and Barbuda and the Regional Council of Guadeloupe signed an Agreement to share expertise and make joint approaches to secure development assistance.

The signing ceremony took place between Prime Minister Dr. Hon. Baldwin Spencer and President of the Regional Council of Guadeloupe, the Honourable Victorin LUREL at Hotel Basse-TERRE region following a courtesy call on the Prefect, Mr. Jean FABRE.

According to the document that will be signed: “considering the closeness of the historical and cultural ties that bind the two Parties and the importance of relations of friendship and solidarity resulting, both Parties are satisfied that the opportunities offered by cooperation constitute a vector of economic, scientific and cultural development for their respective territories”.

Among the areas identified for cooperation are disaster preparedness, renewable energy, agriculture, tourism including sports tourism, education including linguistic exchanges, marine services yacht and ferry services, health, culture, information and communication technologies, the promotion of small and medium-sized enterprises and trade export along with media and information exchange.

Emphasizing the historical importance of the enhanced cooperation Agreement, Prime Minister Spencer indicated that untapped opportunities will now be explored; additional expertise will become available in sector specific areas while the things the country have competitive advantage in will be shared with Guadeloupe.

The signing ceremony was attended by a number of dignitaries including Ms. Colette KOURY – the President of the Chamber of Commerce and Industry of the Guadeloupe; Mr. Joel LOBEAU – President of the Chamber of crafts, Mr. Eric NELSON President of the Chamber of Agriculture; Mr. Frank DESALME President of the regional agency “Guadeloupe Expansion”; Mr. Julien MERION – President of the association “CORECA”; Mr. Michael GORON – Acting Head of the Economic Department Director of the sea; Ms Alex FALEME – President of the Institute for Cooperation Franco Caribbean; Ms Therese MARIANNE-PEPIN – President of the Cooperation Committee of the Regional Council and Mr. Carlos Wharton of the Caribbean Export Development Agency.

At its meeting on 13 January 2011, the Cabinet of Antigua and Barbuda agreed to commence negotiations with Guadeloupe, Martinique and Guiana, French overseas departments, for the strengthening of bilateral relations within the context of the CARIFIORUM – European Union Economic Partnership Agreement led by Ambassador Dr. Clarence Henry.

At the signing ceremony, Prime Minister Spencer was accompanied by Ambassador Dr. Clarence Henry, NAO and Head of the EPA Implementation Unit and Ms Juray Roberts – Project Officer within the Office of NAO.

Additional Information